NORTHEAST OHIO MEDICAL UNIVERSITY

PREVIOUS FACULTY AWARDEES (1990 - 2022)

JUNIOR FACULTY AWARD

2012	Mate Michael Soric	Pharm.D.	Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
	Yanqiao Zhang	M.D.	Assistant Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
2013	Timothy R. Ulbrich	Pharm.D., R.Ph.	Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
2014	Jesse W. Young	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2015	Moses O. Oyewumi	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
	Charles K. Thodeti	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
2016	Denise M. Inman	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2017	Lisa Noelle Cooper	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2018	Christine M. Crish	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
	Natalie Bonfine	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
2019	Rebecca Fischbein	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Family and Community Medicine
	Vahagn Ohanyan	M.D., Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
2020	Jeffrey Mellott	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
	Margaret Sanders	M.A., LSW	Assistant Professor of Famiy and Community Medicine
2021	Erin Reed-Geaghan	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2022	Stacey Gardner-Buckshaw	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Family and Community Medicine
	Matthew Smith	Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

LIEBELT-WHEELER AWARD FOR FACULTY EXCELLENCE

1990	Ludwig M. Deppisch	M.D.	Professor of Pathology
	Timothy J. Teyler	Ph.D.	Professor of Neurobiology
1991	James S. Tan	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
1992	Valerie J. Gilchrist	M.D.	Associate Professor of Family Medicine
1993	Terriann Crisp	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Pharmacology
1994	Chatrchai Watanakunakorn	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
1995	Robert T. Brodell	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
1996	John D. Kramer	M.D.	Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics
1997	Gregory W. Rutecki	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
1998	Joseph Zarconi	M.D.	Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine
1999	Blaise L. Congeni	M.D.	Professor of Pediatrics
2000	John S. Venglarcik, III	M.D.	Associate Professor of Pediatrics
	Richard D. Murray	M.D.	Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine (posthumous)
2001	Mark A. Penn	M.D.	Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
2002	William G. Gardner	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
2003	Paul J. Lecat	M.D.	Associate Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine
2004	Bryan J. Hecht	M.D.	Professor of Obstetrics/Gynecology
2005	Elisabeth Young	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
2006	Robert W. Novak	M.D.	Professor of Pathology
2007	Jeffrey J. Wenstrup	Ph.D.	Professor of Neurobiology
2008	Norman C. Christopher	M.D.	Professor of Emergency Medicine, Professor of Pediatrics
2009	Paul J. Hartung	Ph.D.	Professor of Behavioral and Community Health Sciences
2010	Lawrence A. Frazee	Pharm.D.	Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
2011	J.G.M. 'Hans' Thewissen	Ph.D.	Ingalls-Brown Professor of Anatomy
2012	Kenneth S. Rosenthal	Ph.D.	Professor of Microbiology/Immunology/Biochemistry
2013	John Chiang	Ph.D.	Distinguished University Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular
	-		Pathology
2014	Julie M. Aultman	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine
2015	Nancy L. Gantt	M.D.	Professor of Surgery
	Christopher J. Vinyard	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Anatomy
2016	William M. Chilian	Ph.D.	Professor of Physiology
2017	J. Ronald Mikolich	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
2018	George I. Litman	M.D.	Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine
2019	Dana Peterson	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology
•			

2020	Amy F. Lee	M.D., M.P.H.	Professor of Family and Community Medicine
2021	Petrea Cober	Pharm.D.	Professor of Pharmacy Practice
2022	Chrisovalantis Paxos	Pharm.D.	Professor of Pharmacy Practice

2022	Chrisovalantis Paxos	Pnarm.D.	Professor of Pharmacy Practice
	(OUTSTANDING FA	CULTY RESEARCH AWARD
1999	J.G.M. 'Hans' Thewissen	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Anatomy
2000	Walter E. Horton, Jr.	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Anatomy
2001	John Y. L. Chiang	Ph.D.	Professor of Biochemistry/Molecular Pathology
2002	John J. Docherty	Ph.D.	Professor of Microbiology/Immunology
2003	Jeffrey J. Wenstrup	Ph.D.	Professor of Neurobiology
2004	William P. Lynch	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Microbiology/Immunology
2005	James S. Tan	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
2006	Hans G. Folkesson	Ph.D.	Professor of Physiology and Pharmacology
2007	Brett Schofield	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Neurobiology
2008	Gary D. Niehaus	Ph.D.	Professor of Physiology
2009	Mark L. Savickas	Ph.D.	Professor of Behavioral and Community Health Sciences
2010	William M. Chilian	Ph.D.	Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
	Thomas M. File, Jr.	M.D.	Professor of Internal Medicine
2011	Christopher J. Vinyard	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Anatomy
2012	Richard G. Barr	Ph.D.	Professor of Radiology
2013	Fayez Safadi	Ph.D.	Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2014	Yanqiao Zhang	M.D.	Associate Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
2015	Tariq Haqqi	Ph.D.	Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2016	(no awardee)		
2017	Rebecca Z. German	Ph.D.	Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2018	Paul J. Hartung	Ph.D.	Professor of Family and Community Medicine
2019	Charles Thodeti	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
	Jesse Young	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology
2020	Julie Aultman	Ph.D.	Professor of Family and Community Medicine
	Liya Yin	M.D., Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Integrative Medical Sciences
2021	Alexander Galazyuk	Ph.D.	Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2022	Takhar Kasumov	Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences