AHEC Scholars' Completion Ceremony

Friday, April 29, the Area Health Education Center (AHEC) congratulated 12 graduates of the AHEC Scholars Program, a program for distinguished undergraduate students starting in their second year of formal education in Northeast Ohio.

Current NEOMED medical student, Zoya Khan, and rising NEOMED medical students, Balakrishna Brahmandam and Natasha Salmen, were among the graduates celebrating. The other nine graduates are:

  • Anthony Achille,
  • Dijana Bjelivuk,
  • Eman Ewais,
  • Rebecca Goterba,
  • Addrine Johnson,
  • Mohamed Kharseity,
  • Juliann Mauser,
  • De’Vine Shelton, and
  • Savannah Williams.

Maureen Drummond, director of Eastern Ohio AHEC, presented Balakrishna Brahmandam, Savannah Williams and Juliann Mauser with the Eastern Ohio AHEC Scholars of the Year. Sydney E. Lewis was chosen as the Eastern Ohio AHEC Scholars Fellow for 2022/2023.

Standing alongside the graduates were first year AHEC Scholars Logan Burrow and Katie Stomski, who were elevated to Level 2 Scholars in a pinning ceremony.

The AHEC Scholars program trains students to work in interprofessional teams and to gain additional knowledge in their fields through unique didactic and experiential programming in their community. Scholars attend one of the four partner AHEC Centers, located at the University of Akron, Cleveland State University, Youngstown State University and Kent State University Stark Campus.

See more information on the AHEC Scholars

-- Submitted by Rebecca Johnson, rjohnson4@neomed.edu

Share this post