Alpha Omega Alpha Zeta Chapter welcomes new members

Congratulations to the newest Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Zeta Chapter inductees!

During a March 9 ceremony, 28 College of Medicine students and eight faculty, residents and alumni were welcomed into the NEOMED AOA Chapter. The keynote address was provided by Eliot Mostow, M.D., professor and section chief of dermatology in the Department of Internal Medicine at NEOMED.

Students are eligible for consideration for junior-year selection if they are in the top 25% of the class based on overall rank at the end of M2 year. Students are eligible for consideration for senior-year selection if they are in the top 25% of the class based on overall rank at the end of M3 year. Final selection is the responsibility of an AOA selection committee that includes NEOMED faculty who are also AOA members and the student president, vice president and secretary of the AOA chapter. Applicants are evaluated based on research, leadership and service experience.

Student inductees include:


  • Alexandra Brooks
  • Richard Chahine
  • Jessica Chang
  • Isna Khaliq
  • Kevin Mo
  • Jay Natarajan
  • Adrianna Nicholson
  • Matthew Nied
  • Jonathan Sasse
  • Derek Teeling


  • Amy Adik (incoming 2023-2024 AOA president)
  • Andrew Alejo
  • Vardhan Avasarala
  • Alyssa Basdavanos
  • Meghana Chalasani
  • Leah Choban
  • Kyra Deep
  • Michael Dube (incoming 2023-2024 AOA vice president)
  • Christopher Economus
  • Brian Foresi
  • Natalie Ganios
  • Nicholas Krasnoschlik
  • Alekhya Mannava
  • Adam Mansour (incoming 2023-2024 AOA secretary)
  • Ali Murra
  • Karina Pedersen
  • Gina Tubo
  • Alexa Wawrzyniak

Each AOA chapter may elect residents/fellows, faculty and alumni who have never previously been elected to AOA. Nationally, AOA bases resident/fellow, faculty and alumni elections on medical school class size. A medical school of NEOMED’s size can select a maximum of three resident members, three faculty members and three alumni members. Residents, alumni, and faculty are nominated for membership by current AOA members. Nominated parties are evaluated for continued academic and professional achievement, leadership, professionalism, service, teaching, and research.


  • Alumni: Ananth Murthy, M.D. (’99), Don Deep, M.D. (’94), Mark Kubina, M.D. (’93)
  • Faculty: Matthew Mullins, M.D. (’19), Nicholas Papas, M.D. (’86), Timothy Barreiro, D.O.
  • Residents: Aayush Pradhan, M.D., Joshua Henning, M.D.

2022-2023 AOA OFFICERS

  • President: Sanjay Jinka
  • Vice president: Kelly Kimball
  • Secretary: Ali Syed

-- Submitted by Harmony Stanger

Share this post