Alumni Awards to Be Presented May 21

Each year, the NEOMED Alumni Association recognizes alumni and friends for their service and volunteer work with the University, the health professions and the local community.

With last year’s event pre-empted by the pandemic, the Alumni Award Dinner on May 21 will include awards for two years – and a Trivia Night.

Congratulations to the award recipients!


The 2021 Alumni Association Appreciation Award will be presented to Chelsey Kirkland, M.P.H., (’16). Kirkland was instrumental in organizing and leading the College of Graduate Studies Town Hall meeting in late 2020. The information and perspectives shared by alumni at this meeting will greatly assist the College in better engaging alumni by understanding their needs. Kirkland has been a strong advocate for alumni, has taken the initiative to personally engage her fellow COGS graduates and has admirably represented and supported the mission of the NEOMED Alumni Association.

The 2020 Alumni Association Appreciation Award will be presented to Doug Moses, M.D. (’95). Dr. Moses has helped acknowledge and thank our alumni who volunteer their time as admissions interviewers. He grew the number of alumni who participate in this important institutional process by reaching out as a fellow NEOMED graduate and asking for help. The first year he made the request, NEOMED saw a significant increase in volunteers, with more than 90 alumni signing up. He also improved communication between departments to ensure that NEOEMD was properly thanking and recognizing these important volunteers.


The 2021 Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Nancy Flickinger, M.D. (’81). Dr. Flickinger is a family practitioner and associate director of the Summa Barberton Family Practice Residency Program. She has contributed to NEOMED as an educator, mentor and volunteer. She teaches the ALSO course at NEOMED, volunteers at the Student-Run Free Clinic at NEOMED and has been a dedicated educator and mentor throughout her career. Her passion for primary care has inspired many medical students to pursue family medicine. 

The 2020 Distinguished Service Award will be presented to the late Dinah Fedyna, M.D. (’82). Dr. Fedyna was well-known and respected in NEOMED’s Department of Family and Community Medicine and served as the director of geriatrics as well as being a teaching preceptor with medical residents at the Family Health Center. She spent more than 30 years as a medical educator, becoming a role model for many. A dedicated volunteer, she established a bi-monthly dinner for the underserved community in Youngstown, feeding more than 150 people at each dinner and sending home lunch bags and essential care products. Through her professional career and volunteerism, Dr. Fedyna demonstrated her commitment to aiding the underserved in our region.

Dr. Fedyna passed away in February 2021. Her husband, Joseph Novicky, will accept the award in her memory.  


The 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Donald Malone Jr., M.D. (’85). Dr. Malone is president of Cleveland Clinic Ohio Hospitals and Family Health Centers. He also serves as a Professor of Psychiatry at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University. He has been active in research in the areas of anxiety disorders, anabolic steroid use and abuse, ECT and Deep Brain Stimulation. Dr. Malone has authored numerous publications and presented both nationally and internationally as an expert in his field.

[Read Dr. Malone’s thoughts on leadership in the Spring 2022 issue of Ignite.]

The 2021 Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Scott Deitchman, M.D. ('84), M.P.H.. Dr. Deitchman served 30 years in the United States Public Health Service, including assignments as Assistant Surgeon General, medical advisor for Homeland Security Affairs in the Office of the Vice President, and leading the Center for Disease Control’s (CDC) responses to the 2004 Asian tsunami disaster, the 2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill, and the 2011 Fukushima Daiichi nuclear reactor emergency. He was appointed Rear Admiral by the USPHS. Dr. Deitchman holds an adjunct faculty appointment at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. As a principal at Gordon & Rosenblatt LLC, he consults in preventing waterborne disease outbreaks, such as Legionnaires disease.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDheadshot of Blaise Congeni

The 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Blaise Congeni, M.D. Through more than 40 years of service, Dr. Congeni has distinguished himself in the clinical realm locally, regionally and nationally. He retired in 2021 as director of pediatric infectious disease at Akron Children’s Hospital, but continues to lead students as a professor of pediatrics and medical microbiology at NEOMED. The first classes he taught at NEOMED were held in a trailer on Route 44 and he has continued with the University through its physical growth and evolution. Dr. Congeni has dedicated his life to medical education and health care for the people of this region.


Learn more about the Alumni Award Dinner and Trivia Night

Share this post