College of Medicine Education Innovation Award Application Deadline: October 15!

The College of Medicine (COM) Office of Medical Education is accepting applications for the Education Innovation Award. The next quarter award applications are due on Friday, Oct. 15 to with award decisions made by December 1.

Details on the application process and requirements can be found on the Curriculum Change Initiative website.             

The Education Innovation Award was established to support faculty in developing innovative ways to engage learners. Successful proposals will align with the NEOMED COM Educational Program Objectives in addition to supporting a formal COM curricular component. All faculty currently teaching in the COM curriculum are eligible for the award. The maximum award amount is $5,000 and is limited to a maximum of one award per module/course and one award per applicant per academic year.

Education Innovation Award faculty recipients to date include:

  • Kristen A. Knepp, Ph.D. “Project MIMSE: Motivational Interviewing for Medical Student Education”
  • L. Austin Fredrickson, M.D. “Social Justice in Medicine Keynote Lectureship”
  • Mariquita Belen, M.D. “Observed Telemedicine Integrating Clinical Reasoning”
  • Amy Lee, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. and Kris Baughman, Ph.D. “Bringing Peer Instruction to Life Using Videos”
  • Janice McDaniel, M.D. “Hands-on Ultrasound Training Simulations for Diagnosis and Ultrasound-Guided Procedures”
  • Rachel Conrad Bracken, Ph.D. “Medicine and Disabilities Studies Thread” 

For more information on the award or application process, please contact COM Faculty Development at or refer to the application found on the COM Faculty Development section of the Curriculum Change Initiative website.

-Submitted by Jennifer Hillyer, Ph.D., director of Faculty Development for the College of Medicine

Share this post