At NEOMED’s campus update on March 7, 2017, President Jay Gershen recognized two individuals with two of the highest honors given to faculty members: the Junior Faculty Award and the Liebelt/Wheeler Award for Faculty Excellence.

The Junior Faculty Award honors a NEOMED faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary performance and made a noteworthy contribution to our community. The award is based on teaching, research and service. Glaucoma researcher Denise Inman, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, was announced as the 2016 awardee for her wide-ranging list of contributions at NEOMED and in the community. The director of the Integrated Pharmaceutical Medicine program—which offers both doctoral and master’s degrees—Dr.  Inman is known for her committed approach to the success of her students. She is also an outstanding leader, serving on nine committees at NEOMED to shape the direction of the University, as well as serving on the board for the Association of Women in Science.

The Liebelt/Wheeler Award for Faculty Excellence was presented to William Chilian, Ph.D., chair of Integrative Medical Services and professor of physiology. The award honors a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary performance in the areas of teaching, service, professional standing or patient care.

An internationally renowned researcher, Dr. Chilian is also known as a tremendous mentor, educator and leader. Over the course of his distinguished career, Dr. Chilian has published more than 150 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters in top-tier journals—including three of the American Journal of Physiology’s 20 most-cited papers of all time. In addition to being a prolific writer, Dr. Chilian is on several editorial boards and serves as the president of the Microcirculatory Society.

Treasured as a mentor to both colleagues and students, Dr. Chilian has trained dozens of postdocs, Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. students. He is known for always making time to help support and promote his colleagues throughout the University.

Congratulations to Dr. Inman and Dr. Chilian!

Share this post