Family Medicine Interest Group Honored as Program of Excellence

For the second consecutive year, the NEOMED Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) will receive the Program of Excellence Award from the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). The NEOMED student group is one of 14 FMIGs from across the country being recognized for exemplary efforts to grow and support interest in family medicine.

The students and their faculty advisors will be honored during the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students, being held July 28-30 in Kansas City, Missouri.

Congratulations to the 2021-2022 FMIG officers:

  • President: Michaela Ward (M3)
  • Co-VP: Emily Marsico (M3)
  • Co-VP: Bryce Fetterman (M3)
  • Finance Officer (treasurer and fundraising chair): Nino Kovaljesko (M3)
  • Secretary: Natasha Flesher (M3)
  • Outreach Officer (Community Service and Social Media Chair): Karen Pham (M3)

FMIG faculty advisors include:

  • Mike Appleman, M.A.Ed., director of Primary Care Education, Department of Family and Community Medicine, associate director, Integrated Pathway Programs
  • Mariquita Belen, M.D., FAAFP, assistant professor of Family and Community Medicine
  • John Boltri, M.D., FAAFP, professor and chair of Family and Community Medicine
  • Stacey Gardner-Buckshaw, Ph.D., M.P.A., assistant professor of Family and Community Medicine
  • David Sperling, M.D., associate professor of Family and Community Medicine

According to the AAFP website, the Program of Excellence Awards have been presented for more than 10 years to celebrate FMIG efforts to stimulate student interest in family medicine and family medicine programming:

“FMIGs are active at nearly every medical school across the country…. Some programs have an established record of high achievement and strong advising and support, while other programs may be new to their campus or have a defined area of focus throughout the year. The AAFP is proud to recognize the unique achievements of all such FMIGs through the Program of Excellence Award.”

Share this post