Graduates find FAME at NEOMED

What’s the difference between a good teacher and a great one? A good leader and an exceptional one? And how can we each close the gap?

For 10 months, participants in a Northeast Ohio Medical University professional development program have been asking themselves questions like those, at monthly sessions guided by visiting speakers and NEOMED faculty members. On Friday, Dec. 7, the 2018 Fellowship in Academic Medicine (FAME) leadership program Teaching Track (pictured below) and Leadership Track (pictured above) fellows gathered at the Grand Ballroom of the NEOMED Education and Wellness (NEW) Center for project presentations, a keynote address, graduation ceremony and a luncheon to celebrate completing the program.

There were two cohorts for this year’s classes: a teaching track and a leadership track. Participants in the 10-month program came both from NEOMED and from additional institutions and companies in Northeast Ohio for the professional development, for which some clinicians were eligible to earn continuing education credit. Maria Ramundo, M.D., served as course director for the teaching track and co-course director for the leadership track, while Barbara Tobias, director of Human Resources at NEOMED, served as co-course director of the leadership track.

The day began with poster presentations by teaching track fellows and FAME alumni. A project by Sabrina Ben-Zion, M.D., and Maria Ramundo, M.D., was named as the winning FAME Alumni presentation. Melvin Smith, Ph.D., a professor of organizational behavior and faculty director of executive education at the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University, presented the keynote address, “Resonant Leadership and Emotional Intelligence in Healthcare Leadership.”

Susan Labuda Schrop, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine, assistant professor in the College of Graduate Studies, and assistant dean of curriculum and quality measures for the College of Medicine, was honored at the event for having conceived and launched the FAME program 28 years ago. At the luncheon, Joseph Zarconi, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine and senior associate dean for Health Affairs in the College of Medicine, congratulated the graduates and urged all to continually strive to make the NEOMED community a better place.

A limited number of seats are still available for the 2019 NEOMED FAME Teaching Track. For more information, visit the NEOMED website.

Graduates of NEOMED’S 2018 FAME Teaching Track

  • Bruce Benton, M.D.
  • Christa Bigham, Pharm.D.
  • Paul Chenowith, D.O.
  • Jennifer D’Abreau, D.O.
  • Regina Dorman, M.D.
  • Jeffrey Hageman, D.O.
  • Rachel Hart, D.O.
  • Danielle Maholtz, D.O.
  • Todd McMillen, M.D.
  • Kathryn Phillippi, D.O.
  • Christine Young, M.D.

Graduates of NEOMED’S 2018 FAME Leadership Track

  • Jessica Castonguay, D.O.
  • Amy Coleman, Pharm.D.
  • Adrian Dan, M.D.
  • Darcie Flower, B.A.
  • Jinfeng (Grace) Ge, Ph.D.
  • Elaine Guregian, M.A.
  • Danelle Hupp, Ph.D.
  • Janel Koellner, M.A. Ed.
  • Amanda Lavignette, Pharm.D.
  • Kali Meonske
  • David Rossi, Pharm.D.
  • Prabodh Sadana, Ph.D.
  • Erica Stovsky, M.D.
  • Wendy Withey, B.B.A.
  • Michael Wolff, J.D.

Share this post