Highlights from the Spring Celebration of Medical Education

The College of Medicine hosted its second Celebration of Medical Education event Monday, April 25.

Larry Hurtubise, Ph.D. (ABD), curriculum specialist for the Drake Institute for Teaching and Learning at The Ohio State University (right), started the day’s event with a plenary session, “Striving for Inclusive Teaching through Universal Design for Learning.”

Next, education innovation award faculty recipients Janice McDaniel, M.D.; Amy Lee, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A.; Kris Baughman, Ph.D.; and L. Austin Fredrickson, M.D., presented their projects and provided practical advice for those considering applying for the award. 

The afternoon continued with concurrent workshops focused on writing effective assessment items, presented by Gustavo Patino, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Foundational Medical Studies and Neurology at Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine in Michigan, and an active learning workshop facilitated by Larry Hurtubise. 

A digital poster session highlighted the work of education innovations as poster presenters Heather McEwen, M.L.I.S., M.S.; Rebecca Fischbein, Ph.D.; Kris Baughman, Ph.D.; and Rachel Bracken, Ph.D., provided snapshots of their projects. The day’s events concluded with an early evening plenary session, presented by Cynthia Ledford, M.D., and Susan Nofziger, M.D., on language that enhances clinical coaching and narrative assessments.

The College of Medicine Office of Medical Education is looking forward to collaborating with the College of Pharmacy for a joint celebration event October 17.

Have some great ideas for the next event?  Please send them to commeded@neomed.edu or comfacdev@neomed.edu and look for updates on the Events page of the COM faculty development website

--Submitted by Jennifer Hillyer, Ph.D., director of faculty development, College of Medicine

Share this post