Medicine Graduates Celebrate Achievements in Awards Ceremony

Interim Dean Eugene Mowad hands award to medicine student Whitney Stolnicki in front of College of Medicine banner

Photo, left to right: Eugene Mowad, interim dean of the College of Medicine, presents the Outstanding Achievement Award to Class of 2022 graduate Whitney Stolnick

On the cusp of Commencement, soon-to-be-graduating College of Medicine students gathered to be honored for outstanding achievements on May 4, 2022. The annual COM Awards ceremony was a chance to honor not only the students but the faculty and staff who have guided and supported them on their way to becoming transformational leaders. Held in person for the first time since 2019, the event featured both singing and dancing by members of the 2022 class.

Gray-haired man presents award to woman with long-dark hair who is wetting a blue dress.

Photo, left to right: Richard Lewis, retired vice president for government relations, presents the Matthew Allen Lewis Award for Outstanding Patient Care and Mastery of the Science of Medicine to Class of 2022 graduate Rachana Raghupathy.

One of the highlights of the ceremony was the class speech, given by Gonfalonian William Downing (now, Dr. Downing) who had been elected by his classmates to address the class. In his message, he shared not only words of wisdom but part of his personal journey of launching his second career as a physician in his 50s. He concluded with one of his favorite quotes, from business leader Nido Qubien: “Each day is a gift. Cherish it. Use it wisely. Be grateful for it. Invest your time and energy to enhance your life and improve our world. This is your day. Make it count.”

Read Bill Downing’s speech

Congratulations to the award winners!

Gonfalonian- first in class standing
William Downing

Faculty Hooders
Julie Aultman, Ph.D.
Mariquita Belen, M.D.
Austin Fredrickson, M.D.
Bradley Moore, M.D.
Doug Moses, M.D.
Eugene Mowad, M.D.
Drazen Petrinec, M.D.
David Sperling, M.D.
Joseph Zarconi, M.D.

Outstanding Service (Staff)
Harmony Stanger, M.B.A.

Outstanding Service (Faculty)
Paul Lecat, M.D.

Class Gift 
Ultrasound Equipment

Class Speaker
William Downing

Excellence in Family Medicine Award
Stephen Grossi

Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
Erica Reber

Excellence in Internal Medicine Award 
Rachana Raghupathy

Excellence in Obstetrics/Gynecology Award
Andrew Barbieri

Excellence in Pediatrics  Award 
William Downing

Excellence in Psychiatry Award
Lindsay Hofer

Excellence in Surgery Award
Jordan Johnson

Diversity Leader Award
Laura Allen-Matlock

Diversity Leader Award
Anibelky Almanzar

Community Builder Award
Palvir Baadh

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
Akanksha Dadlani

Excellence in Public Health Award
Poojajeet Khaira

William H. Falor Research Award
Neal Kapoor

William H. Falor Research Award
Sriharsha Voleti

Ideal Physician Award
Anna Cherian

Ideal Physician Award
Bhavya Sharma

Ideal Physician Award
Christine Rizkala

Ideal Physician Award
Peter Palmer

Ideal Physician Award
William Downing

Matthew Allen Lewis Award for Outstanding Patient Care and Mastery of the Science of Medicine Award
Rachana Raghupathy

Outstanding Achievement Award
Whitney Stolnicki

Service to College of Medicine Award
Whitney Stolnicki

Volunteer Service to Community Award
Poojajeet Khaira

Share this post