Celebration of Health Professions Education is Oct. 17

The Colleges of Medicine and Pharmacy and the Master Teacher Guild are excited to host a Celebration of Health Professions Education the afternoon of Monday, Oct. 17, and welcome guest presenter Larry D. Gruppen, Ph.D., professor of Learning Health Sciences and director of the Master of Health Professions Education Program from the University of Michigan Medical School. Dr. Gruppen will present the plenary, titled “An Introduction to Doing Research in Health Professions Education.”

The event will highlight NEOMED faculty in an education innovation presentation session and innovative teaching poster session. Faculty education innovation presenters include Arthur Coulton, Ph.D., Catherine (Katie) Mattinson, Ph.D., Jesse Young, Ph.D., Alexander Hoffman, Pharm.D., M.Ed., BCPS, and Margaret (Margy) Sanders, M.A., L.S.W.  In addition, several faculty will be presenting posters, including Liz Fredrickson, Pharm.D., BCPS, Thomas Mike, M.D., and Mariquita (Kit) Belen, M.D. 

A diversity, equity and inclusion workshop session, titled “Anchoring Cultural Humility in Medical Education,” will be facilitated in the afternoon by Yoleetah Ilodi, M.D., assistant dean of diversity, and Iris Mirelez, M.Ed., assistant director of student diversity in the College of Medicine. The event will conclude in the early evening with college-specific breakout sessions tailored to each of NEOMED’s three colleges.

All NEOMED faculty and staff are invited to attend, whether in-person or via Zoom. The event begins at 12:15 p.m. in Watanakunakorn Auditorium and can also be viewed via Zoom.

RSVP here to view the times and select the sessions you plan to attend.

Questions about the event? Email comfacdev@neomed.edu.

Northeast Ohio Medical University designates this live activity for a maximum 4.50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Clockwise, from upper left, are presenters Mariquita (Kit) Belen, M.D.,  Arthur Coulton, Ph.D., Liz Fredrickson, Pharm.D. ('14), BCPS, Alexander Hoffman, Pharm.D., M.Ed., BCPS, Jesse Young, Ph.D., Margaret (Margy) Sanders, M.A., L.S.W., Thomas Mike, M.D., and Catherine (Katie) Mattinson, Ph.D.,



Share this post