Story Featuring COM Rural (RMED) Pathway and Director Receives National Murrow Award

An NPR-WKSU story written by Professor Jacqueline Marino of Kent State University received a national Edward R. Murrow Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association. The story – The Rural Doctor Is In – prominently features rural health challenges and the NEOMED College of Medicine Rural Medical Education (RMED) Pathway.

Awarded in the Radio category for News Documentary, the story includes contributions from NEOMED's RMED Pathway team Alex Heintzelman, M.D. ('11), and Mike Appleman, M.A.Ed., as well as RMED alumna AuBree LaForce, M.D. ('21).

The RMED Pathway was established in 2015 in response to the 2013 University Strategic Plan. Since then, 27 Doctor of Medicine graduates completed the RMED pathway, and 53 students are enrolled in the 2022-2023 academic year. The RMED Pathway is designed as a student-centered learning community, providing students the opportunity to train in rural communities, master rural health content, and become advocates for rural health. Other College of Medicine Pathways include the Urban Primary Care Pathway and Social Justice Pathway.

-- Submitted by Michael Appleman, M.A.Ed.,

Share this post