8th Annual NEO-SFN Poster Session

The Northeast Ohio Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience (NEO-SFN) held its 8th Annual Poster Session in the NEW Center Atrium at NEOMED Oct. 31, 2018. The event is held each year just prior to the SFN national meeting in order for students to practice their presentations, to highlight neuroscience research in the region, and to enable cross-institutional collaborations.

Undergraduate and graduate students and postdoctoral fellows from NEOMED, Kent State University, and Oberlin College participated in the reception where over 20 posters were presented. There was a wide variety of neuroscience topics covered including studies on the neurobiological basis of fear, stress, and post traumatic stress disorder, experiments examining auditory perception, and studies on early markers of neurodegenerative disease and novel intervention strategies.

All poster presentations were judged and awarded based on poster content, appearance, presentation, and impact. First prize was awarded to Zahra Ghasemahmad, a student in the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program at NEOMED, working in the lab of Dr. Jeffrey Wenstrup. The second place winner was Morgan Thomas, an undergraduate student from Oberlin College, working with Dr. Gunnar Kwakye. Elizabeth Aulino placed third and honorable mention was awarded to Adam Kulp and Kevin Budge, all three graduate students in the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program at Kent State and NEOMED. Respectively, they work in the laboratories of Drs. Heather Caldwell, John Johnson, and Fayez Safadi.

The event was supported this year by the NEOMED Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and the Neurodegenerative Disease and Aging Focus Area. Support from Kent State came from the Brain Health Research Institute, Department of Biological Sciences, and the School of Biomedical Sciences. The National Society for Neuroscience Meeting was held in San Diego, CA from Nov. 3-7.

-Submitted by Sheila Fleming

Share this post