Board of Trustees Meeting Highlights 5.26.21

The following are highlights from the Northeast Ohio Medical University Board of Trustees meeting, which occurred on Wednesday, May 26, 2021:

-Maria Schimer, J.D., general counsel, administered the oath to William H. Considine, chief executive officer emeritus of Akron Children’s Hospital, as a new member of the University’s Board of Trustees. Considine will serve a nine-year term. 

-During the President’s Report, President Langell praised the NEOMED students, faculty and staff for excelling throughout the pandemic despite the numerous hardships faced. He highlighted changes that were implemented regarding the University’s Choice Program, which is in place in advance of the new academic year. He highlighted several new initiatives, including the University’s strategic plan, Lean Six Sigma, and zero-based budgeting. Currently, 42% of NEOMED’s faculty and staff are in the process of obtaining or have received Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt certification. In addition, it is anticipated 8% of the workforce will be Green Belt-trained by June 30 and close to 12% by Dec. 31. 

Dr. Langell recognized Mary Taylor and the finance team for implementing the zero-based budgeting process. This process allows the University to reinvest in its mission by achieving staffing for success; investing in outstanding people; funding new strategic initiatives and focusing on diversity and the “exceptional experience.” 

Dr. Langell noted that the University’s diversity and equity initiatives are going well. There have been 18 new leadership positions hired since the beginning of Dr. Langell’s tenure, including approximately 80% women and 40% underrepresented minorities (URM). In addition, the acceptances to date within the Colleges of Medicine, Pharmacy and Graduate Studies reflect an increase of URM students varying from 15.4% to 55%. In addition, the overall projected enrollment of 1,049 students reflects an estimated increase of 6.3% from fiscal year 2021.

-Elisabeth Young, M.D. (’85), dean of the College of Medicine and John Boltri, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine, presented on Student Health Services, which  opened in November 2020 to students and will eventually offer services to University employees and community members, including offering addiction services to the public. A total of 78 student patient visits – 58 in-person and 20 virtual –  have taken place since the opening of Student Health Services. 

-Lacey Madison, M.B.A., M.Ed., chief strategy officer, delivered an update on the University’s strategic plan, which is utilizing the DMAIC model – define, measure, analyze, improve, control – that is part of the Lean Six Sigma curriculum. The plan includes four focus areas: exceptional experience, diversity, leadership and developing people. 

-Daniel Blain, M.A., M.S.W., vice president for Advancement and president of NEOMED Foundation, provided a comprehensive fundraising summary and reviewed the current focus areas for development and alumni relations.

-Elisabeth Young, M.D. (’85), shared an update regarding the LCME survey team’s findings related to the College of Medicine’s accreditation.   

-Mary Taylor, M.Tax., CPA, vice president for Operations and Finance, discussed details of the new zero-based budget process and highlighted its alignment to the mission-critical needs of the University related to the fiscal year 2022 budget. In addition, she brought forward a resolution authorizing the new master capital lease for purchase of replacement computers on a planned schedule as well as a resolution authorizing the refunding of NEOMED’s 2011 General Receipts Bonds, which could potentially save the University an estimated $4.7 million. 

-Michelle Mulhern, M.P.A., chief of staff and secretary to the board of trustees, read a Resolution of Appreciation for AuBree LaForce, M.D. (’21), in recognition of her academic accomplishments, her extensive community service, and recognition for her term as a student member of the Board of Trustees. 

-Trustee Darrell McNair, M.B.A., was recognized for being named Black Professional of the Year by The Black Professional magazine.

-Finally, President John Langell presented three President’s Excellence Awards. Recipients of the inaugural awards were:

  • Sara Briechle, Senior Process Engineer – President’s Staff Excellence in Continuous Improvement Award 
  • Mary Massie-Story, M.D., – President’s Excellence in Teaching Award – Clinical Faculty
  • Julie Aultman, Ph.D., – President’s Excellence in Teaching Award – Rootstown-Based Faculty 
Share this post