Class of 2019 Student Clinician's Ceremony

Third-year medicine students gathered on Friday, July 28, for the Class of 2019 Student Clinician’s Ceremony. Each year, the ceremony helps to provide guidance, information and support to medicine students as they prepare to begin their clerkships. The event also honors outstanding faculty members and residents.

David Sperling, M.D., delivered the ceremony keynote address and was also the recipient of the Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED) Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

Daniel Wasdahl, M.D., associate professor of pathology, was awarded the M2 Teacher of the Year Award, as selected by the College of Medicine Class of 2019.

NEOMED students presented Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards (HETA) to a number of select residents from our clinical campuses. This year’s HETA award winners were:

  • Rakin Hoq, (’16) M.D., Psychiatry, Summa Health/NEOMED
  • Andrew Martin, M.D., General Surgery, Summa Health
  • Joseph Miladore, (‘15) M.D., General Surgery, Mercy Health-St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital
  • Jheel Shah, (’16) M.D., OBGYN, Summa Health
  • Christopher Verdone, D.O., General Surgery, Mercy Health-St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital

The ceremony was sponsored by the Office of Student Affairs and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Share this post