College of Medicine Awards Ceremony

The hard work and dedication to bettering the practice of medicine paid off! Congratulations to College of Medicine award recipients for their efforts throughout the year.

William H. Falor Research Award

Recipient: Julie An

Sponsored by the late William H. Falor, M.D., and Mrs. Ann Falor; administered by the NEOMED Foundation.

Awarded to a senior who has demonstrated pursuit of research projects, presentations and publication of research results.

Ideal Physician Award

Recipients: Sharon Bernard, Michael Erossy, Gregory Ferenchak, Amythest Gauthier and Daniel Kreatsoulas

Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation and Merck and Company, Inc.  

Awarded to four students whom peers would most like to have as their own physician, as exemplified through their excellent intellectual and clinical skills, empathy and patient rapport, as well as their diligence and support of fellow classmates.

Matthew Allen Lewis Award for Outstanding Patient Care and Mastery of Science of Medicine

Recipient: Saloni Sheth

Sponsored by Richard and Joyce Lewis

Awarded to a senior possessing outstanding communication skills, empathy and compassion with patients and families, plus a high level of technical expertise and skills in the science of medicine

Outstanding Achievement Award

Recipient: Daniel Kreatsoulas

Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation.

Awarded to a senior based on exemplary academic accomplishments, class rank, and contributions to the College and community.

Service to the College of Medicine Community Award

Recipient: Sai Krishna Korada

Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation. 

Awarded to a senior who has significantly contributed time, energies, ideas and support to College of Medicine functions and activities, committees, faculty and staff.

Service to the Community Award

Recipient: Sharon Bernard

Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation. 

Awarded to a senior who has gratuitously provided time and support to community service programs, has displayed a caring attitude and is committed to bettering the community.     


Departmental Awards

Departmental awards provide all students the opportunity to be considered for awards that are based on core College of Medicine curriculum.  Recipients are determined based on their academic performance and achievement in the course. 

Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award – Jordan Ross

Excellence in Family Medicine Award – Amythest Gauthier

Excellence in Internal Medicine Award – Richard Tonelli

Excellence in Obstetrics/Gynecology Award – Daniel Good

Excellence in Pediatrics Award – Tal Cohen

Excellence in Psychiatry Award – Taylor Hendricks-Johnson

Excellence in Surgery Award – Daniel Kreatsoulas

College of Medicine Gonfalonian    

Daniel Kreatsolouas

Faculty/Staff Awards

Outstanding Service to the Class Award

Awarded by the senior graduating class to a faculty member and a staff member who provided outstanding service to the student body

Michael Kempe

Director, Financial Aid and


Paul Lecat, M.D.

Assistant Dean of Students, College of Medicine

Professor of Internal Medicine

Professor of Pediatrics

Professor of Family and Community Medicine

National Awards

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Recipient: Amythest Gauthier

Sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation

Presented to a graduating student who is a member of the Gold Humanism Honor Society and best demonstrates the Foundation's ideals of outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, respect for patients, their families and healthcare colleagues, as well as demonstrated clinical excellence.  


Excellence in Public Health Award

Recipient: Sibley Strader

The Physicians Professional Advisory Committee (PPAC) of the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) awards medicine students with the Excellence in Public Health Award each year.

 Both PPAC and USPHS recognizes medicine students who are involved in public health issues in their community as well as increase awareness of the Public Health Service and its mission to protect, promote, and advance the health and safety of our Nation.


Pictured from left to right in photo above, Dr. Young,  Amythest Gauthier, Michael Erossy, Gregory Ferenchak, Daniel Kreatsoulas, Sharon Bernard and Dr. Mowad

Share this post