College of Medicine Education Innovation Award Application Deadline July 15

The College of Medicine (COM) Office of Medical Education is accepting applications for the Education Innovation Award. The next quarter award applications are due Thursday, July 15, to with award announcements being made to recipients by Sept. 1.

Details on the application process and requirements can be found on the Curriculum Change Initiative website.             

The Education Innovation Award was established to support faculty in developing innovative ways to engage learners. Successful proposals will align with the NEOMED COM Educational Program Objectives and support a formal COM curricular component. All faculty currently teaching in the COM curriculum are eligible for the award. The maximum award amount is $5,000 and is limited to a maximum of one award per module/course and one award per applicant per academic year.

Education Innovation Award faculty recipients from the 2020-21 AY include:

  • L. Austin Fredrickson, M.D., project submission: “Social Justice in Medicine Keynote Lectureship”
  • Mariquita Belen, M.D., project submission: “Observed Telemedicine Integrating Clinical Reasoning” 
  • Amy Lee, M.D., M.P.H., and Kris Baughman, Ph.D. project submission: “Bringing Peer Instruction to Life Using Videos”
  • Rachel Conrad Bracken, Ph.D., project submission: “Medicine and Disabilities Studies Thread” 
  • Janice McDaniel, M.D., project submission: “Hands-on Ultrasound Training Simulations for Diagnosis and Ultrasound-Guided Procedures”

For more information on the award or application process, please contact COM Faculty Development at or refer to the application found on the COM Faculty Development section of the Curriculum Change Initiative website.

-Submitted by Jennifer Hillyer

Share this post