College of Medicine Education Innovation Award Winners Announced

The College of Medicine (COM) Office of Medical Education is excited to announce the most recent faculty recipients of the Education Innovation Award. 

  • L. Austin Fredrickson, M.D., Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Mariquita Belen, M.D., Assistant Professor of Family & Community Medicine

Dr. Fredrickson’s project submission, “Social Justice in Medicine Keynote Lectureship,” embeds social justice issues relevant to medical education and practice into the M4 Clinical Epilogue and Capstone course which is part of the Human Values in Medicine (HVM) curriculum.  The 2021 inaugural keynote lecture, “Racial Justice during the COVID-19 pandemic,” will be delivered by a national expert and will provide a space for facilitated discussion and self-reflection, deepening the impact of the HVM curriculum for graduating M4 students.

The “Observed Telemedicine Integrating Clinical Reasoning” project submitted by Dr. Belen enhances student learning through a case-based, participatory learning session in the M1 Integrated Case Experience module.  The project supports an exceptional student experience by increasing opportunities for active student engagement in telemedicine with tele-standardized patients and physician faculty providing immediate, formative feedback in real-time.  

The Education Innovation Award was established to support faculty who develop innovative ways to engage learners. Successful proposals will align with the NEOMED COM Educational Program Objectives in addition to supporting a formal COM curricular component. All faculty currently teaching in the COM curriculum are eligible for the award. The maximum award amount is $5,000 and is limited to a maximum of one award per module/course and one award per applicant per academic year.

Details on the application process and requirements can be found on the Curriculum Change Initiative website.  For more information on the award or application process, please contact COM Faculty Development at           

Applications for the Education Innovation Award are accepted quarterly, with the next award application deadline on April 15 and award announcements to recipients by June 1.

-Submitted by Jennifer Hillyer

Share this post