College of Pharmacy Holds Awards Event, Delayed by COVID-19

Recognition of the hard work and accomplishments of students, alumni, faculty and staff of the College of Pharmacy in academic year 2019-2020 may have been delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic, but it came with a wave of good wishes from its presenters at a virtual awards ceremony held Thursday, Oct. 8.

Liz Frederickson, Pharm.D. (’14), an assistant professor of pharmacy practice and of pharmaceutical sciences, presided over the event. Congratulations to Dr. Fredrickson, who also won an award for P2 Teacher of the Year.

The afternoon ceremony began with a welcome and congratulations to all from President Langell.

The slate of awards has been expanded significantly over previous years to recognize more of the individuals who contribute significantly to the successes of the College. Among the additions were several alumni awards and a Staff Excellence award, presented to Cheri Harris, business manager for the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Harris was recognized as “A staff member who consistently and substantially exceeds the expectations of the position, performing at a level above and beyond normal job requirement and has made important and significant contributions in their area.”


Originally the celebration was scheduled for April 2020. Because the University had closed for the pandemic, the event was postponed. Thus, those named in the student categories are all a year further along now than the year indicated in the program shown here.

The College of Pharmacy plans to recognize a new group of winners in Spring 2021, said Seth Brownlee, Pharm. D., senior associate dean for program quality and student success.

View the honorees!


Share this post