College of Medicine Bestows Honors

On May 18, 2017, the College of Medicine held its annual awards ceremony in the NEOMED Education and Wellness Center Ballroom. The event is held to honor the M4s prior to Commencement. Faculty, staff, family and friends gathered for the event, which featured a humorous account by class speaker Pouyan Namakydoust of how he used setbacks during her four years as learning opportunities for future success.

A complete list of award recipients follows. Congratulations to everyone for the outstanding work!

Departmental Awards

Departmental awards provide all students the opportunity to be considered for awards that are based on core College of Medicine curriculum. Recipients are selected based on their academic performance and achievement in the course.

Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
Nikolas Sekoulopoulos

Excellence in Family Medicine Award
Christina Vincer

Excellence in Internal Medicine Award
Michael Smith

Excellence in Obstetrics/Gynecology Award
Gaurav Pahouja

Excellence in Pediatrics Award
Monica Gray

Excellence in Psychiatry Award
Michael McFadden

Excellence in Surgery Award
Elizabeth Olecki

National Awards

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
Sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation
Presented to a graduating student who is a member of the Gold Humanism Honor Society and best demonstrates the Foundation’s ideals of outstanding compassion in the delivery of care and respect for patients, their families and healthcare colleagues, as well as demonstrated clinical excellence.
Timothy Smile

Excellence in Public Health Award
The Physicians Professional Advisory Committee (PPAC) of the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) awards medicine students with the Excellence in Public Health Award each year.
Both PPAC and USPHS recognizes medicine students who are involved in public health issues in their community as well as increase awareness of the Public Health Service and its mission to protect, promote, and advance the health and safety of our Nation.
John Hill IV

College of Medicine and NEOMED Foundation Awards

William H. Falor Research Award
Sponsored by the late William H. Falor, M.D., and Mrs. Ann Falor; administered by the NEOMED Foundation.
Awarded to a fourth-year student who has demonstrated pursuit of research projects, presentations and publication of research results.
Ramya Vajapey

Ideal Physician Award
Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation and Merck and Company, Inc.
Awarded to four students whom peers would most like to have as their own physician, as exemplified through their excellent intellectual and clinical skills, empathy and patient rapport, as well as their diligence and support of fellow classmates.
Molly Booy, Monica Gray, Stephen Hudson, Timothy Smile

Matthew Allen Lewis Award for Outstanding Patient Care and Mastery of Science of Medicine
Sponsored by Richard and Joyce Lewis
Awarded to a fourth-year student possessing outstanding communication skills, empathy and compassion with patients and families, plus a high level of technical expertise and skills
in the science of medicine.
Radhika Takiar

Outstanding Achievement Award
Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation.
Awarded to a senior based on exemplary academic accomplishments, class rank, and contributions to the College and community.
Kyle Unsdorfer

Service to the College of Medicine Community Award
Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation.
Awarded to a fourth-year student who has significantly contributed time, energies, ideas and support to College of Medicine functions and activities, committees, faculty and staff.
Timothy Smile

Volunteer Service to the Community At-Large Award
Sponsored by the NEOMED Foundation.
Awarded to a fourth-year student who has gratuitously provided time and support to community service programs, has displayed a caring attitude and is committed to bettering the community.
John Hill IV

Faculty/Staff Awards

Each year, the graduating class identifies faculty and staff who have significantly contributed to their education.

Commencement Day Hooders
Eight faculty from the Rootstown and clinical campuses who were identified by the senior class to bestow the doctoral hoods, which signifies the professional stature attained by the medical degree.

  • Thomas Boniface, M.D. (’83)
  • Eugene Mowad, M.D.
  • Dana Peterson, Ph.D.
  • Drazen Petrinec, M.D. (’89)
  • David Sperling, M.D. (’85)
  • Chris Vinyard, Ph.D.
  • Daniel A. Wasdahl, M.D.
  • Joseph Zarconi, M.D. (’81)

Outstanding Service to the Class Award
Awarded by the senior graduating class to a faculty member and a staff member who provided outstanding service to the student body.
Paul LeCat, M.D., and Anita Pokorny, M.Ed.

Share this post