COM Education Innovation Award Winners

The College of Medicine (COM) Office of Medical Education is excited to announce the faculty recipients of the Education Innovation Award for the second quarter of applications. 

  • Amy Lee, M.D., M.P.H., Professor of Family and Community Medicine
  • Kris Baughman, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine

Dr. Lee and Dr. Baughman’s project submission, “Bringing Peer Instruction to Life Using Videos,” involves the creation of storyboards for different case scenarios that will be transformed into videos for the Population Health course module.

The Education Innovation Award was established to support faculty in developing innovative ways to engage learners. Successful proposals will align with the NEOMED COM Educational Program Objectives in addition to supporting a formal COM curricular component. All faculty currently teaching in the COM curriculum are eligible for the award. The maximum award amount is $5,000 and is limited to a maximum of one award per module/course and one award per applicant per academic year.

Details on the application process and requirements can be found on the Curriculum Change Initiative website.             

Applications for the Education Innovation Award are accepted quarterly, with the next award application deadline on January 15 and award announcements to recipients by March 1.

For more information on the award or application process, please contact COM Faculty Development at or refer to the application found on the COM Faculty Development section of the Curriculum Change Initiative website.

-Submitted by Jennifer Hillyer

Share this post