Community Service Award and Mary Jane Kelly Award Winners Named

Congratulations to Janet Coon, associate director of Government and External Affairs, and Cheri Harris, business manager of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences – this year’s winners, respectively, of the Community Service Award and the Mary Jane Kelly Award! 

These awards, faculty recognition awards, and recognition of employee years of service will be made at the University’s annual Employee Recognition Ceremony. The event will be held virtually Friday, March 26, from 1:30-2:30 p.m.

Community Service Award: Janet Coon

This award was established by Glenn Saltzman, Ph.D., who retired in 1996 after 20 years of service as a charter chairperson in the Department of Behavioral Sciences and as a director in the Division of Medical Sciences. Dr. Saltzman and his wife, Ruth, created the award in memory of their son Jon. The award annually recognizes an employee who has made contributions to the betterment of the community and service to fellow citizens. Emphasis is given to an employee’s service to their community during the past two years. 

Mary Jane Kelly Award for Service Excellence: Cheri Harris

This award was established in honor of Mary Jane Kelly, one of the very first employees of the institution, who served as assistant to the vice provost for administration and public affairs. This award is presented to a staff member who demonstrates an exemplary work ethic and takes the appropriate initiative while maintaining a strong service-oriented attitude. 

R.S.V.P. to Dayonna Taylor via email at  

View the event on Zoom, Friday, March 26 at 1:30 p.m.

Share this post