Interdisciplinary Team to Oversee IPM Graduate Program

Denise Inman, Ph.D., who has served as the program director for the integrated pharmaceutical medicine (IPM) program since 2012, has accepted a new academic position at North Texas State University and will be leaving NEOMED this week.

“Dr. Inman’s oversight and engagement in the IPM program has been nothing short of remarkable,” said Steven Schmidt, Ph.D., Vice President for Research and dean of the College of Graduate Studies, noting that the program has graduated three Master of Science and four Ph.D. students under Dr. Inman’s leadership.

“Dr. Inman has overseen the buildout of curriculum and internships, and has been available to and mentored students throughout her leadership,” Dr. Schmidt said. “I applaud Dr. Inman for her outstanding service to the IPM students, the College of Graduate Studies and the University.”

See Dr. Schmidt’s announcement to students:

To fill the leadership role for the IPM program following Dr. Inman’s departure I am pleased to announce that Moses Oyewumi, Ph.D., Priya Raman, Ph.D., and Matthew Smith, Ph.D., have agreed to serve collectively as the new leaders of the IPM Program going forward. Drs. Oyewumi and Raman will serve as the Program co-directors and Dr. Smith will serve as an associate director with emphasis upon curriculum and student success. I am excited about this team of leaders that will bring together faculty and staff from both the College of Medicine and the College of Pharmacy to support this interdisciplinary translational biosciences Ph.D. program.

Dr. Raman is a pharmacologist and accomplished researcher who has been actively involved in the NEOMED/KSU BMS Graduate Program. Dr. Oyewumi is also an accomplished researcher with expertise in drug delivery who has worked in the Pharmaceutical industry prior to his academic appointment at NEOMED. And Dr. Smith is a graduate of the IPM program who is building his academic and research portfolio at NEOMED in collaboration with Akron Children’s Hospital. Individually and collectively this team is poised to support all of the students currently enrolled in the IPM program and have great ideas on how to morph and grow the program. Kelly Shrock will continue as program coordinator for the IPM program. You can expect that the new leadership team will be reaching out to you in the near future to meet and discuss your program and career objectives.

I know that these kinds of transitions can be worrisome to students. Please know that I think we have assembled an outstanding leadership team going forward who will serve the students and the program well. And please join me in celebrating and thanking Dr. Inman for all of her contributions.

Dr. Schmidt

Share this post