Moses Oyewumi Promoted to Chair of Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

It is with great pleasure that I announce the promotion of Moses Oyewumi, B.Pharm., Ph.D., to the position of chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, effective July 1, 2020. Dr. Oyewumi (pronounced Oh-yea-WOO-me) has been with the College of Pharmacy since 2009 and currently is a tenured associate professor. 

Dr. Oyewumi earned a Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Kentucky and later completed postdoctoral training at the University of Iowa. Prior to joining NEOMED, Dr. Oyewumi was a scientist in pharmaceutics research and development – and later a formulation team leader – in the pharmaceutical industry.

While working in the pharmaceutical industry, Dr. Oyewumi played a leading role in the formulation design and clinical development of several bioactive macromolecules. He is a recipient of many academic and industrial innovation awards, including Elsevier’s Top Ten Most Cited Paper and Technical Excellence awards.

Dr. Oyewumi has held various key positions within the College and at NEOMED. He actively designs and manages courses within the Pharm.D. curriculum and provides mentorship to students for the Colleges of Pharmacy and Graduate Studies. His research portfolio is focused on the engineering and application of advanced drug delivery in cancer therapeutics, smart drug delivery, bone regeneration, and neuroprotection. The recipient of the 2014 COP Teaching Innovation Award, he has mentored 3 Ph.D. students in his laboratory and served on the advisory committees for 23 other graduate students.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Oyewumi and welcoming him to his new role.   


— Submitted by Richard Kasmer, Pharm.D., J.D., vice president of Academic Affairs and dean of the College of Pharmacy

Share this post