NEOMED Board of Trustees Quarterly Meeting Highlights

The NEOMED Board of Trustees held its quarterly meeting, Wednesday, Sept. 9 in Cook Alumni Hall. Below are highlights from the meeting.

Second-year College of Medicine student Joshua Tidd was sworn in as NEOMED’s newest student trustee by Maria Schimer, J.D., general counsel and chief technology transfer officer. Tidd’s term runs from June 30, 2020, to June 29, 2022.

President Langell and Paul Bishop, J.D., chair of NEOMED’s Board of Trustees presented Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa degrees to NEOMED College of Medicine alumna Amy Stearns Acton, M.D. (’90), M.P.H., the former director of Ohio’s Department of Health who now serves as director of Kind Columbus at the Columbus Foundation; and to long-time University partner Richard T. (Rick) Kellar, M.B.A., president of Peg’s Foundation.  

Following President Langell’s presentation, the Board of Trustees unanimously endorsed the University’s new strategic plan, entitled Strategic Plan 2020: Creating Transformational Health Care Leaders. The new road map discusses NEOMED’s mission, vision, core values and more. The plan’s pillars include people; education; discovery; service & community engagement; and growth. The plan also offers a foundation of administrative and academic support. President Langell shared that he plans to have a timeline for the three- to five-year plan by the Board’s next meeting.

Dr. Langell discussed NEOMED’s work to improve the diversity of its student population. He noted that although 12.8% of NEOMED’s student body self-identifies as underrepresented minorities (URMs), at this time the University doesn’t quite represent the communities it serves. President Langell noted he is working with NEOMED’s university partners to help increase those numbers.

Following President Langell’s report, Rebecca German, Ph.D., a professor of anatomy and neurobiology, was invited to present her research titled, “Feeding and Airway Protection in Term and Preterm Infants: Normal Development or Pathophysiology?”

College of Graduate Studies Dean Steven Schmidt, Ph.D., introduced two new Master of Science programs, a Master of Science in Anesthesia and a Master of Science in Clinical Leadership in Health Care. The Board of Trustees approved both programs to move forward with the process for accreditation.

College of Medicine Dean Elisabeth Young, M.D. (’85), provided an update on the College’s LCME accreditation progress and the steps that still lie ahead.

  • November 2020: Mock LCME virtual limited site visit
  • February 2021: LCME virtual limited site visit
  • June 2021: LCME notification of findings

Mary Taylor, M.Tax, C.P.A., vice president for operations and finance, proposed the issuance of 2020 General Receipts Bonds as well as restructuring the University’s bonds from 2010 and 2011 due to current low interest rates. The Board approved.

As Chair Bishop prepares for his term to end, effective Sept. 30, the board elected and swore in Richard McQueen as the new Board of Trustees chair and Phillip Trueblood as its new vice chair. Before concluding the meeting, President Langell read a resolution of appreciation to Bishop and thanked him for his service and dedication to NEOMED.

Share this post