NEOMED Researcher To Receive National Award

The Society of Toxicology (SOT) has named Jason Richardson, Ph.D., professor of pharmaceutical sciences, as the recipient of its 2017 SOT Achievement Award, one of the two longest-running honors bestowed by the Society. The Achievement Award is presented to a member of the SOT who, within 15 years of obtaining their highest earned degree, has made ‘’significant contributions to toxicology.’’

The award will be presented in a ceremony in Baltimore on March 12, 2017, during the Society’s 56th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo. The prize includes a plaque and a $2,000 stipend from the Society.

Kenneth R. Reuhl, PhD, DABT, professor of pharmacology and toxicology at Rutgers University and interim director of the Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences Institute (EOHSI), wrote in his nomination that Dr. Richardson’s achievements “clearly identify him as one of the most gifted toxicologists of his generation and one whose productivity, achievements, and commitment to excellence are only beginning.”

Martin A. Philbert, PhD, FRSC, ATS, NAM, dean and professor of toxicology at the University of Michigan School of Public Health, called Dr. Richardson “the archetypal candidate for recognition.”

Dr. Richardson, who holds a Diplomate of the American Board of Toxicology (DABT), joined the NEOMED faculty in 2015 as the director of the neurodegenerative disease and aging research focus area—one of five major research focus areas at NEOMED. The other major areas are auditory neuroscience, community-based mental health, metabolic and cardiovascular disease, and musculoskeletal biology.

Since August, Dr. Richardson has served as acting associate dean of research and faculty advancement for NEOMED’s College of Pharmacy. His research is nationally funded by institutions such as the National Institutes of Health.

Share this post