Nicholas Pratt Awarded Scholarship from the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians

The Ohio Academy of Family Physicians (OAFP) awarded Nicholas Pratt, a second year College of Medicine student, the National Conference Student Scholarship in the amount of $600.

In order to increase Ohio medical students’ representation at the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students, the OAFP Foundation afforded scholarship funds in addition to the historically awarded AAFP Foundation Family Medicine Leads Scholarship and the Ohio Delegate and Alternate Delegate Scholarships.

Nick’s scholarship essay spoke to his time as a medical student in the Urban Primary Care Pathway, working to learn how to best address health disparities within our community. It also addressed how urban primary care physicians combine clinical expertise with evidence-based practice to provide optimal patient care.

Nick is incredibly grateful to the OAFP for the generous funds of this scholarship. It allows him the opportunity to network and learn from leaders within the field. The scholarship funds will be awarded at the Ohio-Only Reception in Kansas City, MO.

Additionally, Nick will be serving as a student delegate from NEOMED for the Primary Care Leadership Collaborative. He is joined at the meeting by AAFP scholarship recipients (recognized prior) Varun Gopinath and Gurkiran Singh, students Bradley Eckert, Kate Kelley, Cynthia Pathmasian, Michelle Xu, AuBree LaForce, and Koshala Selvakumar, and faculty advisors Dr. Stacey Gardner-Buckshaw, Dr. Douglas Harley, and Dr. Arjun “Sunny” Dhoopar.

-Submitted by Stacey Gardner-Buckshaw

Share this post