Pharmacy Students and Faculty Honored at Dean’s Reception

Four years ago, new College of Pharmacy students attended their White Coat Ceremony and heard comments from Scott Knoer, Pharm.D., then the chief pharmacy officer at Cleveland Clinic. On the eve of NEOMED’s 2021 Commencement, Dr. Knoer once again joined them, this time delivering remarks as the keynote speaker at the annual College of Pharmacy Dean’s Reception.

Held virtually Friday, April 30, the night before 69 College of Pharmacy students received their degrees, the Dean’s Reception celebrated student and faculty milestones and achievements. 

Congratulating the students, Dr. Knoer urged them to view their careers not as a job but as a professional journey with amazing opportunities ahead. In his current role as the CEO of the American Pharmacists Association, said Dr. Knoer, he can facilitate changing laws and advocate for the pharmacy profession. But the students? You are the future of pharmacy, he told them. 

In the future, current leaders such as Dr. Knoer will look to the pharmacists of the Class of 2021 to help solve the most important issue facing the profession, namely, payment reform, he said. 

If you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem, he told the students. And to be part of the solution, you’ll need to be lifelong learners and adapt to change.

Watch a recording of the 2021 College of Pharmacy Dean’s Reception 

2021 College of Pharmacy Award Recipients

APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Award
Tim Huskey

Bowl of Hygeia Award
Ashley Brooks

Commencement Student Speaker
Ashley Brooks

Commitment to Service
Shadrack Osei Baah

Council of Ohio Colleges Pharmacy Leadership Award
Kevin King

Council of Ohio Colleges Pharmacy Leadership Scholarship
Leetsa Lambis

Evidence-Based Medicine Approach to Patient Care
Angie Morris

Excellence in Clinical Communication and Patient Care Award
Ashley Brooks

Health System Practice Award
Mackenzie Lloyd

Mylan Excellence in Pharmacy Award
Steven Fosnight

OPA Student Leadership Award
Korie Maryo

Outstanding Researcher Award
Steven Fosnight

Professional Achievement Award
David Whipkey

Rootstown Community Pharmacy Practice Award
Kaitlyn Latham

Student Marshall
Leetsa Lambis 

U.S. Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award
Kassandra Kersey

Walgreens Pharmacy Multilingual Award
Lucia Serna-Ramirez

Faculty Excellence in Role Modeling of Interprofessional Collaboration
Alex Hoffman, Pharm.D., BCPS, CDCES

Outstanding Alumni
Joshua Shumway, Pharm.D.

P4 Core Faculty Preceptor of the Year
Chris Shelby, Pharm.D., BCPS

P4 Voluntary Faculty Preceptor of the Year
Kim Novak, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPPS, FPPAG

P4 Teacher of the Year

Bhavin Mistry, Pharm.D., BCIDP, BCPS

Share this post