Renee Brumbaugh Recognized

Congratulations to Renee Brumbaugh, a third-year student in the Rural Medical Education (RMED) Pathway program of the College of Medicine, who was selected as a recipient of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine 2019 Student Scholar Award. She was one of just 20 students selected.  

The award provided for registration and expenses for Brumbaugh to attend and present a poster at the 2019 Conference on Medical Student Education held by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) in Jacksonville, Florida.

Brumbaugh’s award letter noted, “In addition to recognizing your strong commitment to family medicine through scholastic, volunteer and leadership pursuits, this award also acknowledges your potential for a career in academic medicine.”

Brumbaugh attended the conference with Michael Appleman, M.A. Ed., the assistant director of the RMED Pathway (shown in photo) and presented a poster on Project Come Together along with her classmate Michaela Randall, also a third-year NEOMED student.

Afterward, Appleman noted, “I have known Renee for three years through her engagement in NEOMED’s Rural Medical Education (RMED) Pathway, Family Medicine Interest Group, and the AAFP’s Primary Care Leadership Collaborative program. Renee has been working toward this great honor for a long time, although I’m sure recognition was never her goal. She received this award because of her humility, compassion and advocacy for those less fortunate. As an aspiring family medicine physician, her passion for addiction issues and mental health treatment will serve her future patients and their communities well. Anyone would be fortunate to have her as their physician.”

Share this post