More Recipients Named for NEOMED Faculty and Staff Virtual Awards Ceremony

The drum roll continues! Joining the awardees announced in previous issues of The Pulse, two more award recipients have been announced for the June 17 NEOMED Faculty and Staff Virtual Awards Ceremony, at which career milestones and achievements will be recognized.

Congratulations to Debbie Myers, payroll specialist in the Department of Accounting, who will be awarded the 2019 Mary Jane Kelly Award for Service Excellence, based on her willingness to go beyond the call of duty to support faculty and staff members and her overall dedication to NEOMED.

And congratulations to Lora Nicholson, Regulatory Affairs Coordinator II  in the Comparative Medicine Unit, who will receive the 2019 Community Service Award based on her efforts within the community and her dedication to the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC), and for playing a key role in supporting the research community.

At President Langell’s Zoom meeting with the campus community Monday, June 8, he acknowledged and thanked Nicholson for her 41 years of service to NEOMED, which will wrap up with her retirement at the end of June.

The event is at 1 p.m. June 17 via Zoom.  If you do not have an invitation in your Outlook calendar, please contact Dayonna Taylor at

A list of recipients follows.

Junior Faculty Award

Outstanding Faculty Research Award

Liebelt-Wheeler Award for Faculty Excellence

Mary Jane Kelly Award

  • Debbie Myers

Community Service Award

  • Lora Nicholson

Olsen-Blair Award

  • Recipient to be announced at the ceremony.
Share this post